Service

I was well aware that you can expend sexual energy by throwing yourself into Christian service – or some other way of expending energy.  I think there is a term for it – sublimation, is it?  Diversion?

I threw myself into my work – or my responsibilities as a dad, or serving at church, or doing projects around the house….

No doubt it has enabled me to stay out of my addiction for longer than it would have. And yet it simply didn’t work all the time. Some weeks I would simply be drained through giving out too much. And after ‘giving out’ to others, I would sometimes look in the wrong places to fill the emptiness inside.  In the long run it did not really get rid of the problem.

Leave a Reply

