An Important Hebrew Word

When you hear the word ‘cool’, think ‘kȗwn’ instead!

Here is a bit of Psalm 51, verses 7-12.

 Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.
 Let me hear joy and gladness;
let the bones you have crushed rejoice.
 Hide your face from my sins
and blot out all my iniquity.
 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.
 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

 

I love the old Keith Green song, ‘Create in me a clean heart’.  It’s taken from Psalm 51.  This is the Psalm King David wrote after he had committed adultery with Bathsheba.  A really good one to pray through when you are recovering from sexual sin.  Yet I noticed something recently.

In my Bible, it says renew a ‘steadfast’ spirit in me.  Keith Green uses the weaker word ‘right’ from the King James Version.  So what is the right word?

When I looked it up, I found the Hebrew word ‘kȗwn’ – pronounced ‘koon’.  It’s not used that frequently in the Bible, it is scattered here and there.  But it’s meaning is important.  I explain it best by quoting a couple of verses where it is used.

Here, Joseph is speaking to the Pharaoh in Egypt, interpreting two dreams he had, both which had the same meaning.

Genesis 41:28-32

“It is just as I said to Pharaoh: God has shown Pharaoh what he is about to do.  Seven years of great abundance are coming throughout the land of Egypt, but seven years of famine will follow them. Then all the abundance in Egypt will be forgotten, and the famine will ravage the land.  The abundance in the land will not be remembered, because the famine that follows it will be so severe.  The reason the dream was given to Pharaoh in two forms is that the matter has been firmly decided by God, and God will do it soon.

The Hebrew word used in ‘firmly’ is our word, kȗwn.

This is God’s promise to David and Solomon.

2Samuel 7:15-16

But my love will never be taken away from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you.  Your house and your kingdom will endure forever before me; your throne will be established forever.

The word for ‘established’ is ‘kȗwn’

Your spirit is the most precious part of you.  It it what makes us different from the animals, it contains our conscience, our love of beauty, our ability to worship and our desire to do what’s right.  So, to have a right spirit, a steadfast spirit, is to have a spirit that is strongly set, able and willing to do the right thing for life.  David’s prayer is mine too.  I thank God that he has given me a kȗwn spirit!

Be blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

